My Summer Reading List

For many of us, we have passed the halfway mark of summer. I thought I’d share one of the things that have taken up a good portion of my time this summer. That thing is reading. I am a huge bookworm. Even though summer is mostly over, it is not too late to get in a good book or two. I have compiled a list of my favorite books to read in summer.

Anne of Green Gables

This is one of my all time favorite books. I have read it countless times. I have read the entire series countless times to be correct. It isn’t a difficult read so it is great for relaxing in your favorite reading spot. I think this is one of the books that first made me cry, and laugh out loud.

This book is about a little orphan girl who is a surprise to the aging owners of a farmhouse who wrote to the orphanage. She wants to stay with them so badly, but is always getting into scrapes. It is a dream of hers to belong at the farm, and she is willing to work for it.

Twelfth Night

I know Shakespeare isn’t for everyone. It can bring back memories of struggling with the outdated language in high school. However, I think that if they let us read one of his comedies it would have been a much better experience.

This book is a comedy about a man who is suffering from unrequited love at the hands of a woman named Olivia. A shipwrecked woman, Viola, disguises herself as her twin brother, thinking he’s dead, and goes to work for him as a page. The members of Olivia’s household constantly stir up trouble for one another. Shortly after the shipwreck, Viola’s twin brother appears on the scene believing his sister is dead. Olivia soon falls for Viola in disguise and another on of her admirers challengers the disguised to a duel. Meanwhile Olivia’s household continue to cause havoc on one another. The story comes to a head when all of the characters involved in the several love triangles end up in the same room together.

Peter Pan and the Starcatchers

Yes, this is a children’s book. Just trust me on this one. My younger siblings encouraged me to read it, and I’m glad I let them persuade me. In fact, I loved it so much I rushed to the bookstore and bought the rest of the trilogy. They had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. To say that it is well written is not quite doing it justice.

This book is about Peter Pan before Wendy Darling and Neverland. The adventure begins with a group of orphans and continues to include pirates, evil kings, and of course a thunderstorm or two.

Life of Pi

This one is different from the others on the list. I am not a big fan of the man vs nature genre. I can honestly say I enjoyed the movie much better. However, it was a unique book that is easy to read through. The writer does a good job getting the reader to know the main character. It took me by surprise how much I ended up talking about the story after I was finished. I think it is important to read many different types of books.

This book is about a boy named Pi and his childhood. He searches to find God in several religions. His family decides to move to Canada and boards a boat. Pi ends up shipwrecked with a tiger. He goes through many trials, including blindness. They discover a strange island. After quite some time, they end up on the shores of Mexico.

Little House in the Big Woods

This is another one of those books that you probably read back in grade school and never looked back. I highly recommend giving it a second read (or first if you missed out on the opportunity as a child). The story is well written and the characters are endearing. It wasn’t until I was much older that I discovered all the other books that are part of the series.

Laura and her family live in a log cabin in the woods of Wisconsin. Her father and mother work hard to provide for the families needs. At times living in these woods can be scary and lonely, but there is plenty of pleasant, cozy moments to make life happy.

The Secret Garden

This is one that I have read several times. The first time was as a child. I remember sitting in my library’s garden and reading a beautifully illustrated copy of the book. Now I have a plain, small copy of the book, but the charm the words have inside is the same. It is a unique story with unusual characters.

This book is about a sickly, little girl named Mary who lives in a world devoid of love. She is sent to England to live with her Uncle. She hears about a secret garden and becomes determined to find it. She also keeps hearing strange cries in the house. She searches for the source of the cries. She makes some unlikely friends and they share adventures in the garden. They spend every day there.

Robin Hood

What is better in summer than sharing a myriad of adventures? We get to share in the infamous Robin Hood and his merry men’s adventures in this book. It is full of that old-fashioned humor and wit that thrills a book loving heart.

Robin Hood is the people’s hero who stands for social justice in the face of the tyrant Prince John and his sheriff. Robin and his friends take refuge in Sherwood forest, and cause all sorts of trouble for their enemies.

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

This is another unusual pick for me. It is not really my style, but I was encouraged to read it by my high school english teacher. I was surprised to find that I had a hard time putting it down. It is really a suspenseful and fantastical story that I think anyone would enjoy.

A group of men began a voyage to get rid of a mysterious sea monster, which turns out to be a giant submarine. Held captive by the captain, they go on an adventure that holds many wonders.

So there is my summer reading list. Let me know what books you have been loving this summer as I am always eager to add to my collection.

If you liked what you read and want to interact with me more please check out my Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Google+.

Leave a Reply

