The Difference Between Cruelty-Free and Vegan

Quite recently I decided to make the transition to only cruelty-free makeup products. Now I had thought that the horrendous practice of animal testing in the makeup industry was a thing of the past. However, many of the common and popular brands still test on animals. I did know that many of the products found on the shelves were not vegan, but that didn’t really concern me. Going vegan is not something that I think I will be doing any time soon. Although, I have researched and considered it in the past. So I thought since I wasn’t going vegan, I didn’t have to worry about it. Then I found out that not all, not even most, of the products found on the shelves are cruelty-free. So this brought up several questions. Previously I had no idea that there was distinctions between cruelty-free and vegan.

What is the difference? Cruelty-free makeup products are those that are not tested on animals, or have ingredients that are tested on animals. There is no inhumane treatment of animals that happens while going into the making of the products. However just because something is cruelty-free does not mean it is vegan. These products might still have animal products (i.e. such as beeswax, honey, etc.) in them. I am only using products that are cruelty-free from now on.

Vegan products are ones that are made cruelty-free, and without any animal products in them. There is actually quite a few options out there for those that want to go 100% vegan. Like I said, this is not the option I’ll be taking, but I will list a few brands that are vegan for those of you who are. Two are E.L.F., and The Body Shop. I have used both of these off and on for years. I actually really like these brands. Just a side note: The Body Shop’s parent company is L’oreal which is neither vegan nor cruelty free. However, I think it is progress that they have started cruelty-free and vegan products. Hopefully, they will transition to all cruelty-free. Also, Urban Decay has alot of vegan products.

Since I am going 100% cruelty-free I thought I would mention a few brands that I do enjoy or plan to in the future. On the high-end there is Hourglass, Too Faced, and Urban Decay. For Drugstore there is: L.A. Colors, E.L.F.,  NYX,  and Wet n’ Wild. Burt’s Bees is also cruelty-free, but their parent company Clorox is not.

I am thinking about doing a “My Makeup Collection” post once I have bought all cruelty-free products. What do you think? Also, what are some other cruelty-free makeup brands that I could try.

If you liked what you read and want to interact with me more please check out my Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Google+.

2 thoughts on “The Difference Between Cruelty-Free and Vegan

  1. It’s so great to hear you’re going 100% cruelty-free and that you know the distinction between cosmetics labelled as ‘cruelty-free’ vs. ‘vegan’! I think a lot of people (myself included!) first made the switch to only buying cruelty-free and then after getting the hang of it.. it was super easy to switch to vegan products! Definitely a huge step in the right direction nonetheless!!

Leave a Reply

