Rediscovering Culinary Joy

This past year I have rediscovered a love for baking and cooking. Now, I’m not saying that I am going to become a chef or start cooking on the reg. What I am saying is that I find myself wanting to bake or cook more (and by more I mean once or twice a week), and that I actually enjoy it.

ChildhoodPhoto

As a child, I used to love helping my mom in the kitchen. I have photo albums with pictures of me in little aprons holding up different culinary creations. When I got older, however, I completely lost interest. It was more than just a lack of interest, I downright detested anything that had to do with the kitchen, apart from eating. Throughout high school, I actually took pride in my lack of involvement. I call that crazy and insulting!

During this past school year, something changed. I started baking, and then later cooking. I realized that I was actually capable of creating meals, treats, snacks, etc. More importantly, I discovered that there was a lot more to it than just following a set of instructions and making a mess. It is actually a form of art. I was making something. I would think about different things I wanted to make and go for it. I started altering recipes to reflect my own style and tastes. This was something I had no idea I was capable of.

I realize now that this is another way for me to be creative and express myself. Figuring out what flavor, colours, and textures to include is like choosing what medium and subject to use. Planning out a master dessert or new pasta sauce is a fun experience. One of my favorite parts is choosing how to decorate or place whatever I am making. Laying everything out and choosing how to arrange the bell peppers in a salad or topping on a cupcake has its way of bringing me happiness. If I had known that this was what cooking and baking was really about, I would have started years ago.

Expression is a need that I must meet, and having a variety of ways to meet that need is truly satisfying. I am excited to learn and grow with my new hobby. Finding out that I CAN bake and cook anything that I set my mind to has been a huge confidence builder as well. There is something empowering about being able to make things from scratch and see it through to the end. This is definitely something that will be part of my life from now on. This will be a welcome part of my life as I strive to live a truly satisfying one.

Baked Potato  Peanut Butter Cookies

Strawberry Cupcake Photot

Leave a Reply

