Matrix Biolage Smoothing Shine Milk Product Review

    IMG_20150216_163434

     A several years ago, I went to a hair stylist who showed me this product for the first time. Being the high school freshman I was, I only knew of three types of hair products: hairspray, mousse, and gel. The existence of a milk was completely new to me. Fast forward five years and I can still be found using it on a regular basis. This product is AMAZING and I will swear by it!

It is by Matrix Biolage from their Styling line. It is a Smoothing Shine Milk that is supposed to help control frizz and leave your hair soft and glossy. This product is not a hairspray. It says light hold on the bottom of the bottle and it means it. It won’t hold your pony tail in place or keep your bangs out of your face. Rather, it will make you want to run your fingers through your own hair.

A bonus, though a frivolous one, is the bottle. The white bottle with the blue cap is an attractive look. The product name and logo are neatly placed. Everything about it is pretty straight forward. It is in a medium-sized bottle. It is too big to practically fit in your purse, but it is smaller than most mousse bottles. The milk itself is white. It doesn’t discolour your hair though. The thickness is there loose. It is definitely a liquid state which makes sense because it is called a milk. The consistency or colour reminds me of coconut milk.

Another thing I absolutely love about this product is the smell. It smells kind of like a salon, but minus hair dryer/hair colour smell. It isn’t super strong either. You can smell it pretty strongly at first when you spray it on, but after a few moments it fades to just a hint. I never noticed how hard it is to describe a smell. That’s the best I can do.

They used to have one with a white cap which was their original formula. Now they changed the cap to blue and use a Blue Agave formula. Some people are saying that the original was much better, and that the new formula is completely different and has dried out their hair. I have been using the blue agave for several months and have not noticed ANY difference from the original. It does exactly the same thing, smells exactly the same, feels exactly the same to me. Maybe the are spraying too much on. I don’t know. You really do not need much. I have long hair and use 3-4 sprays. It says to “mist lightly” so if you are applying a large amount in an attempt to get a hairspray-like hold out of it, it might give your hair a weird texture. The bottle says to spray on damp hair, but I have used it on my hair after it is fully dried and it works just as good.

For me, I have pretty healthy hair, so if you struggle with dry, brittle hair, I’m not sure what results you might get. I can only speak for myself and how it works on my hair type. I also do not know how it works on tightly curled or textured hair. If you have just plain old straight or wavy hair, this product is incredible. At $16.00 a bottle, it is a bit expensive to buy if you are not sure if you are even going to like it. I would recommend using a tester, or even taking the cap off and spraying some on your hair to see if you like it before taking it to the register.

Everyone’s hair is different, but I would highly recommend giving this product a try. I would give it a 4.5 out of 5. It is fantastic. It makes my hair so soft and silky. Here is link to Ulta’s website so you can check it out and purchase it, or you can find it in most stores that sell hair products.

Please feel free to comment your opinions on this product if you have tried it.

Find me on Facebook, Instagram, Google+, and Pinterest for more of me. As always thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

