Into the Wild!

I have wanted to write about my hike in the Las Vegas NM Wildlife Refuge, but have been suffering from severe writer’s block. Even though I am still struggling with it I will do my best to push through.

During my stay in Las Vegas, New Mexico I visited the Wildlife Refuge just outside of town. Bring plenty of water and a hat for shade on the hike because it gets hot!

The trail head is a rarely used path that weaves its way across the grasslands. As a warning pay close attention to where the trail is because there was a few times I had to backtrack to find it again. It takes about 3 hours to complete the 2 mile hike. It leads out across the open, down into a canyon, loops around and back up the canyon, and out the way you came. Wherever you look there are stunning views. What is so unique is that the trail leads through the part of New Mexico where forest meets grasslands.

2014-07-18 23.21.33

The trail then leads to the canyon where the ground is made of rock. (This is where the trail is easy to lose because it is marked on either side by a string of rocks.) This entire section serves as a lookout point.

The view from the top of the canyon.

The view from the top of the canyon.

The farther I hiked the more forest like the terrain became. There were also more creatures like this little guy.

The park rangers said they are not sure what this guy turns into.

The park rangers said they are not sure what this guy turns into.

I had no idea New Mexico could be so beautiful and have so many shades of green.

20140625_095644

20140625_095751

20140625_100232

20140625_100305

20140625_103902

20140625_105943

One of my favourite features of any hike is water and this one did not disappoint.

20140625_101717

IMG_20140705_132920

There is not much left to say other than that it was a wonderful hike with many different features and I would recommend it if you are in to that sort of thing.

Have a great day and thanks for reading!

P.S. Links are on my contacts page to my Facebook, Google+, etc so go check them out!

Leave a Reply

