Walking through history

I had the opportunity to visit Pecos National Historic Park. That was my first time visiting the park. Right from the start I was excited to see the Pecos pueblo ruins up close, but I had no idea that it would be such a historical jewel. The ruins trail is about 1.25 miles long and took about 2 hours from start to finish.

I bought a trail guide which had a map and excerpts for a self guided tour. After just a few minutes of walking the beauty of the natural environment became evident. A beautiful, green mountain valley stretched out from both sides of the paved trail. I never would have thought New Mexico could be so fertile!

The ruins that I was able to tour was part of the South Pecos Pueblo. There was also a North Pecos Pueblo, but there wasn’t a trail for that one. The path led right through the heart of the pueblo plaza. I could see the remains of the second story, 600 room building.

Fortress-like ruins from the village plaza (1400s)

Fortress-like ruins from the village plaza (1400s)

In the 1600s the Spanish came and built a church. This burnt down when the Pecos Indians revolted in 1680. However, the Christian friars built another church to replace it. The ruins that are being restored are from this second church.

Mission of Our Lady of the Angels of Porciuncula (18th Century)

Mission of Our Lady of the Angels of Porciuncula (18th Century)

Convento rooms. This is where the priests lived and worked.

Convento rooms. This is where the priests lived and worked.

The last point in the pueblo was a restored Kiva. This was my favorite part of the park because… You can go down inside it!! This. Was. Awesome! Kivas served as ceremonial rooms. The native people thought of everything in the construction of these rooms. A kiva is a cool, round, underground room complete with vents to let in fresh air and a deflector to protect the fire from the draft.

Kiva

Kiva

Woah I'm in a kiva!

Woah I’m in a kiva!

That was day number 2 of my summer road trip! This was my favorite stop so far. I can’t wait to continue my adventure tomorrow.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

