My day in Santa Fe

“So where are you going for summer vacation?”  This is probably the most asked summer question. Well…that and “What college are you going to?” for those of us who graduated this year. For me the answer to the first question is my own state. I got some mixed responses from my friends which was to be expected. I don’t know many people who would look forward to a trip that doesn’t cross a single state boarder. However, I highly recommend it. It has opened my eyes to the beauty of New Mexico. I was born and raised in the Land of Enchantment, but despite living here my entire life I realized that I had only seen a small part of the state. So me and my family packed up our bags and geaded Northwest.

 The first stop I made was Santa Fe. Now I have been there many times growing up, but I had never seen Santa Fe so lively. I am a huge history nerd and a visit to the New Mexico History Museum was at the top of my must-see list. It was fantastic! The first two floors were full of artifacts and interactive history exhibits. Behind heavy wooden doors were walls lined with civil war era pottery, household items, and military paraphernalia. As I walked down the trail-like pathway the sound of birds and water was coming from speakers activated by panels shaped like handprints. Above my head dozens of Native American arrows were hung from the ceiling. There was also various telephone models which, when a number is dialed, read an excerpt from that time period. That was incredible! The most memorable thing, at least for me, was the footage from the first atomic bomb testing. After seeing the recording machine I sat and watched the film. It was mind-blowing to see something completely disappear in less than 20 seconds.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         On the top floor there was a room full of camera experiments. Many of those photo distortions could easily be done with Photoshop, but it was fascinating to learn how they were done with actual film. The New Mexico History Museum was one of the best museums I have been in. After exiting

 the museum we walked to the Santa Fe Plaza. It was quite busy and had a festival feel to it. It was time for some window shopping! Jewelry, bags, and kettle corn booths dotted the square. About this time I realized I was getting hungry. So it was time to stop by the Blue Corn Cafe. When I got there the World Cup was on so it was packed. Due to this the service was slow, but the food was AMAZING!!!

Blue Corn Tacos with fresh made salsa! Yum!!

Blue Corn Tacos with fresh made salsa! Yum!!

After we finished our food, my parents took me to the church where they got married. It is a historic church with a spiral staircase which was built without a single nail. I

 wish I had a picture to show you guys of the inside, but the church was closed. Next time I go I will take a photo of the staircase.

The Loretto Chapel

The Loretto Chapel

And that was my day in Santa Fe. I had a lovely time with my family visiting all of these different places. If you ever happen to be in the area I highly recommend you check some of them out.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

